For several years in line with Scottish schools we have followed the 5-14 National Guidelines. These guidelines are used throughout the primary school and in the first two years of secondary school to organise teaching and learning in all areas of the curriculum including the assessment of pupil progress.

Recently there have been changes in Scottish education with the introduction of a new Curriculum Framework called, Curriculum for Excellence. This new approach will offer better outcomes for all young people and will provide more choices and chances for those young people who need them.

The aims of Curriculum for Excellence are that every child and young person should become a:

 Successful learner
 Effective contributor
 Confident individual
 Responsible citizen

The experiences and outcomes under Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase:

Early Level – the pre school years and P1 or later for some

First Level – to the end of p4, but earlier for some

Second Level – to the end of P7, but earlier for some

Third and Fourth – S1 to S3, but earlier for some

Senior Phase – S4 to S6 and college or other means of study

The curriculum is planned to include skills in Mathematics, Languages, Social Studies, Science, Religious and Moral Education, Health and Well Being, Expressive Arts and Technologies.

Certain published programmes of study and other suitable texts are used to support the delivery of the curriculum. The children will also be given many opportunities to develop their skills through a variety of activities to encourage the children to be active, independent learners.

© 2009-2019 Education Services, Inverclyde Council